How to Catch a Yeti

Adam Wallace

When our brilliant Catch Club Kids hear about the legendary Yeti, they head to the mountains to catch a glimpse and prove it really exists! Full of hilarious high jinks and clever traps, How to Catch a Yeti is a fun-filled ride you won’t want to miss! Will our Catch Club Kids catch the Yeti and prove he exists? Or will the Yeti remain a mystery to the world?

Legend has it there lives a beast
we really want to meet.
He’s extra huge with snow-white fur
and giant, fuzzy feet!

I know the Yeti does exist,
and I can prove it too!
And with my friends, we’ll find him fast
before the day is through!

The Germ Lab

Richard Platt

An entertaining and comprehensive telling of diseases, infections, plagues and pandemics for young readers. The Germ Lab features case histories of specific epidemics and pandemics, including COVID-19, ‘eyewitness’ accounts from the rats, flies, ticks, and creepy-crawlies who spread the most deadly viruses, plus plenty of fascinating facts and figures on the biggest and worst afflictions. Illustrated throughout with brilliantly entertaining artworks and fun characters, you’ll be entertained by a secret war room showing the war on germs, a rogues’ gallery highlighting the worst offenders, the very deadliest diseases examined under the microscope, and much more.

And the People Stayed Home

Kitty O’Meara

O’Meara’s thoughtful poem about the pandemic, quarantine, and the future suggests there is meaning to be found in our shared experience of the coronavirus and conveys an optimistic message about the possibility of profound healing for people and the planet.  Her words encourage us to look within, listen deeply, and connect with ourselves and the earth in order to heal. 

O’Meara, a former teacher and chaplain and a spiritual director, clearly captures important aspects of the pandemic experience. Her words, written in March 2020 and shared on Facebook, immediately resonated nationally and internationally and were widely circulated on social media, covered in mainstream news media, and inspired an outpouring of creativity from musicians, dancers, artists, filmmakers, and more. The many highlights include an original composition by John Corigliano that was premiered by Renée Fleming.

How to Catch a Snowman

Adam Wallace

Our heroes’ entry for the snowman contest has magically come to life―and ran away! Can YOU help catch it? Get ready for snow much fun as you travel through a winter wonderland with running, skating, and bouncing through trap after trap to catch the snowman and claim the winning prize. Will the snowman teach our heroes a lesson they’ll never forget? Who snows!

I don’t thumpity-thump or give warm hugs―
that’s for my snowman friends to do.
Clever kids will try to trap me,
but who will catch me…YOU?

Cozy

Jan Brett

Cozy is the softest musk ox in Alaska, with the warmest fur you ever did feel. When a storm hits while he’s separated from his family, he starts to feel lonely–but not for long. As the snow piles up, animals start to notice just how warm and cozy Cozy really is! One mama lemming has a bright idea . . . maybe the best place to spend the winter is under Cozy’s fur!

Who You Were Made to Be

Joanna Gaines

With plenty of pink, a bounty of blue, orange and green and yellow too, this vibrant hot-air balloon adventure celebrates every child and teaches kids that we are in this together. “You’re one of a kind, and it’s so clear to see: The world needs who you were made to be.”

Pick a Pine Tree

Patricia Tort

Part of the magic of the Christmas season stems from the traditions that families and friends take part in every year: hanging up stockings; putting lights in the windows; and, one of the most important of all, picking out and taking home the Christmas tree. With style and warmth, debut author Patricia Toht and Jarvis, the author-illustrator of Alan’s Big, Scary Teeth, evoke all the rituals of decorating the tree — digging out boxes jam-packed with ornaments and tree trimmings, stringing tinsel, and, at long last, turning on those twinkling lights. Joyously drawn and rhythmically written, this celebration of family, friends, and the holiday season is as merry as the tradition it depicts.

Dasher

Matt Tavaers

Dasher is an adventurous young reindeer with a wish in her heart. She spends her days with her family under the hot sun in a traveling circus, but she longs for a different life — one where there is snow beneath her hooves and the North Star above her head. One day, when the opportunity arises, Dasher seizes her destiny and takes off in pursuit of the life she wants to live. It’s not long before she meets a nice man in a red suit with a horse-drawn sleigh — a man named Santa. And soon, with the help of a powerful Christmas wish, nothing will be the same.

The Crayons’ Christmas

Drew Daywalt

‘Tis the season for all of us to write our holiday wishlists. But everyone–even the crayons–know the best presents are the ones that you give. In this unique book, readers get to see how Duncan, the crayons, and their families celebrate the holidays. With real, folded letters from the Crayons that you can pull from their envelopes and read, games, punch-out ornaments, a poster, and a pop-up tree, this book is the perfect gift for for the holidays and for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home

Turkey Trouble

Wendi Silvano

Turkey is in trouble. Bad trouble. The kind of trouble where it’s almost Thanksgiving . . . and you’re the main
course. But Turkey has an idea–what if he doesn’t look like a turkey? What if he looks like another animal instead?
After many hilarious attempts, Turkey comes up with the perfect disguise to make this Thanksgiving the best ever!

Thanksgiving in the Woods

Phyllis Alsdurf

Every year a family and their friends gather in the woods to celebrate Thanksgiving among the trees. Everyone brings something to share and the day becomes a long celebration of family, faith, and friendship. Told in a gentle, lyrical style, this picture book includes warm illustrations of people gathered around bonfires and long tables adorned with candles and food, singing songs and sharing laughter.

Thanksgiving in the Woods is based on the true story of a family in Upstate New York who has hosted an outdoor Thanksgiving feast in the woods on their farm for over twenty years.

Escape Goat

Ann Parchett

The Farmer family has a big problem! Every day their goat escapes, and every day, Mr. Farmer brings him back. So when things start to go awry on the farm, it must be the goat’s fault.

Who’s to blame when Mrs. Farmer’s petunias are trampled?

Or when all the cupcakes for Archie’s party disappear?

And when the whole bucket of paint is spilled?

Of course, everyone blames the goat! But is it really his fault?

Find out in this epic collaboration between Ann Patchett and Robin Preiss Glasser, who create this perfect picture book about telling the truth.

Grumpy Monkey Up All Night

Suzanne Lang

Have you ever stayed up way past your bedtime? Jim Panzee certainly has. Jim is going to a slumber party and there’s LOTS to do. Jim plans on bobbing for mangoes, going termite fishing, and of course staying UP ALL NIGHT!

But Jim gets more than a little frusrated when all the things he wanted to do go awry. One by one, everyone else falls asleep, while Jim is determined to stay up. How long will he last?

In this delightful follow up in the GRUMPY MONKEY series, kids see what happens when you stay awake too late!

Halloween Hustle

Charlotte Gunnufson

In the dark, a funky beat. Something white with bony feet. Skeleton dancing up the street, Doing the Halloween Hustle. Skeleton is dancing his way to a Halloween party—but as he grooves across town, he keeps stumbling, tumbling, and falling apart! Can Skeleton stay in one piece long enough to make it to the party?

How to Catch a Monster

Adam Wallace

Get ready to laugh along with this fun children’s monster book as a young ninja heads into the closet to meet the monster that’s been so scary night after night! But what if things aren’t what they seem and our monster isn’t scary at all? What if our ninja hero is about to make a friend of the strangest sort?

There’s a monster in my closet,
with claws, and teeth, and hair,
and tonight, I’m going to scare him!
He lives just right through there…

If you dare to travel beyond the closet door and into the land of the monsters… you might just find the very best reward of all. But with robots, lava pie, and a smattering of traps-catching monsters is no easy business!

Is there a monster living in your closet? Are you brave enough to catch him? Whether you’re looking for Halloween kids books or a great bedtime story, parents and children alike will love sharing this fun and inventive picture book, which reminds us that things aren’t always as scary as they seem.