the stacks

About Us

Elkland Area Community Library’s service area encompasses 3,670 residents and the following townships surrounding Elkland; Deerfield, Elkland, Farmington, and Nelson. The library is one of eleven libraries belonging to the Potter-Tioga Library System.

Elkland Area Community Library has a wide range collection and offers a variety of services to patrons such as fax, copies, computer use, eBooks, and other. Patrons have access to POWERLibrary databases and other library websites for personal and professional use.

The Elkland Area Community Library was founded in 1912 by the Ladies Shakespeare Club.   From 1950 until 1995, the library was located at 111 East Main Street in the E.W. Coates Building.  In September 1995 the library moved to the former Keystone Building located at 110 E Parkway Avenue, this building was donated by the Citizens & Northern Bank.   

 Originally, the building was built to house the Elkland Leather Company garage and laboratory.  Today, the library has a fine collection of Elkland Leather Company and community history.

Board of Trustees 

President: Susan Dorrance
Vice President:
Secretary/Treasurer: Shirley Heitzenrater
Jennifer Butler
Cindy Cevette
Jack Kenyon

Board Members: 
Judie Mainus
Lorna Sherman
Deb Thurston

Board of Trustees meet every quarter, the 3rd Monday of the month at 7PM. Public is welcome to attend.

Library Staff 

Library Director:  Desiree Flisock
Library Assistant:  Amber Baker
Library Assistant:  Dolly Walters

EACL is available to assist you with your library service needs. Please ask at the circulation desk!

The Library is closed on the following Holidays:

New Year’s Eve
Memorial Day
Fourth of July
Labor Day
Thanksgiving and the day after
Christmas Eve
Christmas Day
New Year’s Eve